Create IFC Property Set Template dynamically from a JSON File

Hey all - so I thought i might share a small script I wrote to help me in generating IFC Property Set Templates that I can later use in BlenderBIM to enrich foreign IFC Models. This is almost always a necessary step for general contractors, since they often(always! ;) ) receive models that have little or non-standard information defined. The end goal is to create a BIM-Based estimate in RIB-iTWO, where we have well-defined content that is based on internal information standards. So the workflow looks like this:
1. Read a company-defined JSON file that describes the Object->Parameter requirements for all types of BIM Objects
2. Parse through the JSON file and dynamically create an ifc property set template that blenderbim can then read
3. Use BlenderBIM to enrich the ifc file.
The code can be found here Blender-IFC-Property-Set-Template

!!Disclaimer!! - I am new to the programming world as such the code will definitely have noob mistakes. Please don't laugh at me or shame me :) . Any tips on improving the code or ideas to make it better would be much appreciated. The next step is to convert this into a plugin with UI elements and to start understanding ifcopenshell in order to avoid making dodgy ifc files!

The end product looks something like this:

brunopostleGorgiousCoenMoultkaiaurelienzhDarth_BlenderduncanJesusbill

Comments

• @Borna_Molnar I think you might find this interesting ;)

• Fantastic work! The concept of property set templates are not well advertised in the OpenBIM world and we definitely need more content out there about this. Will reshare your post on social media ;)

vpajicCoen