History of IFС format and the openBIM concept. Free converter Revit(2015-2022) and IFС2х3 formats

edited November 2023 in General

? Hello everyone,

I understand that my position on the IFC format has not been well received by many of you.
In 2021, I received valuable information from the pioneers of the IFC format and various members of the buildingSMART chapters and rooms. As an information broker, I have shared in my articles what I have learned from “outside” sources.

I have great respect for the OSARCH community, however I do not agree that control over the development and quality of the IFC format is in the hands of the CAD vendors. I supported my point of view with evidence and links in the video, where I talked about the development of CAD companies and the invention of approaches to BIM and openBIM:

In my 2022 posts, I emphasized the need to create native tool for creating and processing the IFC format as a true alternative to the existing openBIM concept, the marketing creation of Graphisoft and Trimble.

For my project DataDrivenConstruction, I took a special approach to data processing and developed a converter using reverse engineering tools to extract data from Revit and IFC files. I believe it is important for construction industry professionals to have access to free data in user-friendly formats similar to those used in other sectors of the economy.

If you need open and convenient formats for working with data from IFC and Revit projects, please download solutions for free from the website.

?Free IFC2x3-to-Excel/DAE converter:
https://datadrivenconstruction.io/index.php/product/free-ifc-2x3-converter-to-xlsx-dae-2024/
? Free Revit®(2015-2022)-to-Excel/DAE converter
https://datadrivenconstruction.io/index.php/product/free-revit-2015-2021-converter-to-xlsx-dae/

? I will be glad to receive any of your comments, both on the video about the history of the creation of the IFC format and on the capabilities and functionality of the converter!