Segmentation Fault in linux with topologicpy and ifcopenshell

Hi @topologic, we are having problems with combining the libraries ifcopenshell and topologicpy (both with the last version available in pip) in a linux system. We are using the build of topologic explained here.

The linuxtest3.py script attached works well in Windows and MacOS but in Ubuntu we get a Segmentation Fault ("Core dumped"). If we change the order of the libraries import (topologicpy before ifcopenshell), the Segmentation Fault appears in a different point of the execution.

@topologic, how we should change the implementation in order to avoid this error?

Comments

• I’m not a Linux expert sadly. My only suggestion is to check that the software on Linux and Windows are built against the same version of OCCT?

• edited December 2023

@agonzalezesteve what's your python version (python --version)? Is it the same as on Windows/Mac?

• @topologic @knotsruen in both linux and windows we are using the versions 7.7.2 of occt and 3.10.13 of python.

• @agonzalezesteve Hi. I did a bit of testing and sadly it seems on linux, the methods dealing with creating a BREP string are not functioning and crashing the whole kernel. This has nothing to do with ifcopenshell. So, as a temporary workaround, please use Topology.ByGeometry and give it a list of vertices, edges, and faces (aka mesh data).
    topology = Topology.ByGeometry(vertices=[], edges=[], faces=[], color=[1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0], id=None, name=None, lengthUnit='METERS', outputMode='default', tolerance=0.0001)

Here is an example of a 1x1x1 cell centered around the origin

{'vertices': [[-0.5, -0.5, -0.5], [0.5, -0.5, -0.5], [0.5, 0.5, -0.5], [-0.5, 0.5, -0.5], [0.5, -0.5, 0.5], [-0.5, -0.5, 0.5], [0.5, 0.5, 0.5], [-0.5, 0.5, 0.5]], 'edges': [[1, 0], [2, 1], [3, 2], [0, 3], [1, 4], [4, 5], [5, 0], [2, 6], [6, 4], [3, 7], [7, 6], [5, 7]], 'faces': [[0, 1, 2, 3], [0, 1, 4, 5], [1, 2, 6, 4], [2, 3, 7, 6], [3, 0, 5, 7], [5, 4, 6, 7]]}

agonzalezesteve