BlenderBIM to Speckle - Help w/ Accessing & Extracting Object Properties

edited April 2021 in General

Hey all!

I'm currently working on the Speckle 2.0 Blender connector and more specifically integrating with BlenderBIM (note: all this dev is local for now, so the repo is not up to date with this!). I am a bit of a noob when it comes to Blender and IFC in general, so forgive me if this is a somewhat naïve question.

So far, I have managed to send the geometry representation of BlenderBIM projects to Speckle preserving the hierarchy of collections and objects as you can see in this test stream here. However, I am not sure about the correct approach for getting the property sets (and possibly other useful information? open to suggestions) and attaching these to the objects as well.

When inspecting the Blender objects themselves, I seem to only be able to find the ifc_definition_id actually stored on there. The PsetProperties always seems to be empty. However, BlenderBIM is obviously already doing the work of getting the schema and properties to display them in the Object Properties panel.

So my main question: is BlenderBIM storing these properties anywhere that I can get access to from the Speckle Addon? If not, could I please get some advice on how to either use BlenderBIM or IFCOpenShell to get these properties myself so I can attach them to the individual objects when converting and sending to Speckle?

If there is documentation out there on this that I missed, I would appreciate being directed towards it.

Cheers!
Izzy

edit: using Blender v2.92.0 and BlenderBIM v0.0.210405

JanFstephen_ltheoryshawduncanMoultgokermukaiaurelienzh

Comments

• Hi @izzylys ! Great to see you here. Very nice to see the test stream from Blender to Speckle ?