If you're reading this, we've just migrated servers! If anything looks broken please email dion@thinkmoult.com :)

BlenderBIM: Suggested method to modify the profile in a IfcExtrudedAreaSolid

Blender noob here.
Test files here: https://gitlab.com/osarch/FreeMVD_WorkFlow/-/tree/8cee12ba905dd94386511bd4e96fb8c79503a89a/Random Tests/Floor
If you wanted to modify the profile, as illustrated below, what's the quickest way you would do that in blender?
I have an idea how to do it in Blender, but it would take a lot of steps and a lot of clicks.
Just wondering if there's a quicker way.

Comments

• edited June 2020

The simplest thing I think would be, in that same view you have, use the knife (k) tool on the face you want to cut, pressing the control key when selecting the points where this cut will be made, this is restricted to the middle of the face. Having the new vertex you select it and adjust it to the position you require, again with the control key you can align it to some point or existing vertex. And finally with the new extrude manifold tool you make the extrusion (this to keep the faces clean, since if you use the normal extrude it will generate more faces).

You read a lot, but it's only 3 steps

1.-Cut with a knife using control to make the cut vertical and in the center.
    2.-adjust the new edges to their position.
    3.-make the extrusion.

Well, I'm not sure if it's what you require, but it's the only thing that came to my mind ...

• I am a fool, I did not read the title well, it is an extruded plane. The fastest way in my opinion then would be. In edit mode, select the two points of the vertex where the change will be generated, subdivide it. You already have three points where before there were 2, adjust the position of the new point to where you need it and extrude the vertex where you need it. And lastly, clean the extra vertex that would not help ...
    If I already know, it is 4 steps, and it takes time.

• edited June 2020