New ifc type

Hello everyone,
I'm new in blenderbim usage and I work with ifc model for a short time. I wondered if creating and implementing a new ifc type on blender was possible. Let me know if anyone knows more. Thank you so much!

Comments

• Hi, If I understand your question I think you cannot create a new type because IFC classes and type are already definited. You can select from exsisting classes and types as shown in the image below

You have to follow, after selcting a generic element the steps from 1 to 3.
    If you need a UserDefined Type you have to set it up in the step 4 and then assign the class .
    Hope it's useful and I've not said something wrong

Ace
  • Your comment and the steps that you showed are very useful for a beginner like me but I need to define a new ifc type that it isn't predefined and implement it in blender but I don't know if it is possible. Thank you again for the feedback!

• Try to be more specific. Once you selected the class https://blenderbim.org/search-ifc-class.html you can do something similar

• Ok sorry for the misunderstanding, I try to be more specific. If I set IfcElement (or anything else in the box) in the Products box then I have its relative class but I need the new type of class that doesn't exist. So I have to create new "Products" with its own "Class" or only new "Class" simply and then implement it on blender. I hope it is clearer than the previous comment. Thank you!

• Got it, the problem is: Is this new class in the ifc schema (https://technical.buildingsmart.org/standards/ifc/ifc-schema-specifications/) ?
    If yes we have to ask someone more able than me to implement the new class otherwise there is already the class you're looking for

• I think technically you can implement new IFC classes, if you modify the schema to suit your needs, the problem is that no one else will be able to understand what it is.