Bachelor Thesis on Open Source Software for Architects

Hello all,

I'm studying architecture and will be writing my bachelor thesis on open source software for architects at the TU Munich next semester. Since there is a lot of expertise on this topic here, I would be happy if some of you could answer my questions and help me further.

1. do you know any architectural offices that use open source software for architectural tasks? If yes, which ones?

2. do you think it is currently possible for architects to rely exclusively on open source software and do the required work? If not, for which tasks do you think this is not possible?

Currently in my work I plan to compare proprietary software (probably ArchiCAD and the Affinity Suite) with open source software (FreeCAD, BlenderBIM, Inkscape, Scribus, Sverchok etc.) with a concrete project. So in both cases build a BIM house and generate plans from it. I also want to do interviews with architects to find out which computer aided help would be best for architects.

If you have any suggestions or questions, please feel free to contact me.

thanks a lot in advance!

Simon

Tagged:
victorklixtoRaphaëlVouilloz

Comments

• edited February 2023

Architecture studios working with FLOSS:
    http://www.uncreated.net/
    http://openingdesign.com/
    https://uhstudio.com/
    https://hrcompacta.com.br/
    http://seniarq.es/estudio.php
    I don't think it would be right to compare proprietary software like AutoCAD with companies of millions of dollars behind v/s FreeCAD or BlenderBIM that is in an alpha stage of development. There is not comparison... and it is not useful at all. Better, take these tools and try to use them in a workflow. Or even, you can look for a suitable workflow or protocol to use them successfully. That would be a good contribution for your thesis. Your thesis could be a guide for FLOSS workflows implementation.

ArchitektpaulleevictorklixtoAce