Bill of Quantities, number of instances

edited October 2023 in General

I am quite new to BB, how can I simply prepare a Bill of Quantities based on the number of instances used in the model, like doors and windows?, maybe assigning a cost to each? I don't know how to count the number in material resources.
I would love to also understand better the link to tasks/calendar/resources+output but it's quite complicated at the moment
Is there any documentation I can use to go deep in the subject?
thanks in advance for any help

Comments

• If you're after a simple schedule as opposed to a fully fleged BOQ something like this would do:

steverugi
  • edited October 2023

Thanks Dion for your quick reply, cheers!

• Excellent videos, too, if you haven't already seen them:

steverugi
  • As much as I appreciated the replies I cannot see much in the video to understand how to create a simple BoQ starting from scratch
    I would be extremely grateful if someone could help me with it, any hint for me to start at least. I can now do most of building an IFC model and work schedule part, it's just the cost/quantity that it's hard to get in a BoQ or Schedule of Rates, as a senior QS/Planner is quite ironic ;-)

• Hi @steverugi I think we're both from Italy, I saw both videos and I think they can satisfy your needs. Maybe we can have a virtual meet and try to resolve your problems. I don't promise anything but we can try

steverugi
  • @Bimlooser said:
    Hi @steverugi I think we're both from Italy, I saw both videos and I think they can satisfy your needs. Maybe we can have a virtual meet and try to resolve your problems. I don't promise anything but we can try

How nice of you!, yes please just let me know when available and will make time for it
    Much appreciated
    Steverugi@gmail.com

• @steverugi

simply prepare a Bill of Quantities based on the number of instances used in the model, like doors and windows?