BlenderBim IFC Certification?

Hello all,
I'm doing a competition that emphasizes on BIM models. They are a bit mentally tight to mainstream software like Revit.
They asked me if the software I'm planning to use is on this list
https://technical.buildingsmart.org/services/certification/ifc-certification-participants/
BlenderBim seems not to be here!
But BlenderBim and FreeCad are in this list:
https://technical.buildingsmart.org/resources/software-implementations/
I've just played a bit with BlenderBim, I want to say congratulation to all developers because the result is impressive! (I'm an architect and a developer to;) )
Question:
Is BlenderBim is IFC2x3 Certified anyhow? maybe @Moult you will be able to instantly answer that question.
Thank you so much, I would love to use something else than Revit!
Yann

Cyril

Comments

• edited August 2020

AFAIK neiterh FreeCAD or BlenderBIM have a certification. Not because they would not pass, but because of the cost. A certificate costs a few thousands of euros ... a price list can be downloaded here: https://www.b-cert.org/Documentation/b85b96fe-24e8-4d34-35d2-08d4a1de0df5
    https://www.buildingsmart.org/compliance/software-certification/

superseed77
  • Yes @bernd it makes sense. Thank you so much

• I hope that when relevant free software projects are ready we can apply for funding or do something to get them certified. That would certainly raise some eyebrows in the industry.

• Who cares about the bSI certifications?
    IFC is going to disrupt, I will destroy it soon :))
    Oh, I forget, it's a standard!!! Really?

• @ReD_CoDE said:
    Who cares about the bSI certifications?

Contractors care about IFC and Revit because it's a feeling of security for them even if it's not true.
    I need to prove to them that BlenderBim is the right tool for BIM oriented architectural model despite their believes. But I need some official stuff ;)