Model in Blender BIM

edited February 2022 in General

I'm a SketchUp user and I'm new to Blender so I would like to know if there are some guidances to model in Blender for the BIM Addon.

I've started with the tutorials shared in this forum and this video is the first one I've found that, instead of importing an IFC, the geometry is introduced directly in Blender but it's not explained deeply.

Comments

• I would just recommend learning Blender first. After becoming accustom, learn BlenderBIM.

• edited December 2020

There are lots of good tutorial for learning blender for architecture if that's what you're looking for. Take a look on YouTube. Try and take the newest ones. https://www.blenderguru.com/tutorials/category/Architecture has some good content.

Don't forget to look at https://wiki.osarch.org/index.php?title=Blender where there are some links to videos. Let us know if you find some other good ones. Then look at the list of add-ins and some of them also have tutorials on YouTube and other places. If you've got the time then the info is out there. Please help us out by noting where what you find that you think is worth sharing.

We need a series of 'Switching to Blender from ...' tutorials

• To learn Blender, try this... the best that I have known...

• Thank you for the answers. I will take a look at it and I will tell you if I find it useful.

@duncan said:
    We need a series of 'Switching to Blender from ...' tutorials

I've followed some of the tutorials for SketchUp users and I found useful:

The problem is trying to apply it to Blender BIM. For example, drawing a DumbWall, some modifiers are used and I'm learning through trial and error.

• @agonzalezesteve coming from SketchUp you might want to check out this thread that has links to some videos specifically for SketchUp users coming to blender. https://community.osarch.org/discussion/comment/1580

bernd