If you're reading this, we've just migrated servers! If anything looks broken please email dion@thinkmoult.com :)

Revit and IFC similarities in high-level logic

edited August 2022 in General

Hi, so I'm a developer who's pretty new to the field of AEC, so forgive my ignorance on this :)

I was wondering how similar the RVT and IFC logic are, on a high level? I understand that they are completely different in that one is proprietary and the other human-readable and so on. What I'm interested in is whether the internal logic is somewhat comparable between the two (e.g. is the dependency tree that IFC has with IfcRoot etc. something to which Revit has a pendant?)

I guess they need to be since you can convert one into the other (though admittedly, Revit does a pretty bad job at it)?

I know I'm being a bit general here, so maybe another example (again, new to the field, so maybe obvious):
I know that in Revit, there isn't really anything relating a room's furniture to the room itself. This is an example of a certain logic (or lack thereof). Would I find the same to be true in IFC files?

Hope I'm being clear!

Tagged:
theoryshaw

Comments

• I know that in Revit, there isn't really anything relating a room's furniture to the room itself. This is an example of a certain logic (or lack thereof). Would I find the same to be true in IFC files?

I have some experience with RevitPythonShell and IfcOpenShell, I don't think they're comparable at all. Revit works with elements which they call Builtin Categories, I always had trouble finding good documenation (This is four years ago, maybe it has improved?).
    IFC is way better documented in my opinion and there is a more enthusiastic community around it it seems, or it's my perception. :-)
    I would advise to start reading the BuildingSmart documentation.

or the osarch wiki
    https://wiki.osarch.org/index.php?title=IFC_-_Industry_Foundation_Classes

Kind of a general answer, but the question was also generic ;-)