PR[i]M - An intelligent product manager for BlenderBIM

Hey everyone,

I have been working on an add-on that works in conjunction with BlenderBIM as part of my master’s degree project at RWTH-Aachen university. While my background is in architecture, during this project I started coding with Python and exploring the IFC schema and all aspects around it.

Briefly: “PR[i]M is a prototype system in development that makes use of IFC BIM data and unified online product databases. PR[i]M intelligently pairs up your BIM project elements with real products and allows you to generate order catalogues instantly.”

More detailed info on the add-on, what it does (and should do), as well as a demonstration are contained in the linked video. The video was made for my final presentation for the Chair for “Design Computation” under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Jakob Beetz.
Feedback and suggestions are welcome. :)

AceMoultcvillagrasaCadGiruNigelGorgioustlangCyrilCoenengfernandoand 5 others.

Comments

• This is excellent work! Do you have social media? It would be great to share this online and inspire others. I'll also be sharing it within my company to see if we can do anything similar.

I'm curious whether or not you also store the nominated manufacturers as IfcActor, as well as the procurement information as properties / relationships that are compliant with either COBie or the upcoming successor to COBie? This would be great for linking things like suppliers, warrantors, model numbers, and so on.

konstakon
  • Hey Dion, thanks so much! I currently mainly use my LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/konstakon/) and YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClcHDMy6IkADpIH6cL74jpw). Feel free to link the video wherever you see fit, I would love if it would reach more people. The last minute of the video especially is kind of a "love letter" to the OSArch community and open-source in general, not just about the add-on.