Irregular walls

Hello everyone! I am new here. I've started using BlenderBim recently, and it seems very promising. I am an architect, and most of my work involves restoring old houses, which often have irregular walls. Does anyone know if and how it's possible to create an irregular wall that changes thickness, for example, starting at 20 cm and ending at 30 cm? Thank you all.

steverugicarlopav

Comments

• edited February 26

Hi @Neskas as i said in the chat. Her what i would do.
    1. draw the wall with the parametric tool
    2. Unlink IfcWall Class => transform to mesh
    3. Reassign the IfcWall class
    4. Modify the mesh - it's your custom wall (see below for a quick overview of what it could be)

At the end you may need to reassign the proper SpatialContainer ...

• @Neskas in addition to what @bdamay demonstrated above, I think you can use a Blender mesh, a cube in the example below, edit it and make it an IfcWall. I manually applied a void and placed an IfcWindow in it

• edited February 26

@Nigel Seems your way is better than mine as the cube seems a cleaner mesh to start from than the one you get by unlinking the ifcwall type. Looks like there are triangles on faces on mine i need to get rid from before being able to model loop cuts like you.
    Well either way, @neskas, dont forget to assign the proper SpatialContainer (Storey) at the end.

• @bdamay Not better, simply different. The 'better' part is that BlenderBIM Addon allows this level of flexibility!

bdamayAce
  • @Nigel, i didn't realize windows void were suited for custom mesh walls as well. That's awesome. :-)

Nigel
  • About this, i have a correlated question about the void itself. If i select the wall and i do Alt-O to show the void. I can see the void is here cutting the wall in the wall properties. That's good.