IfcOpenShell, how to add a new property and value to an object?

edited August 25 in General

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to IfcOpenShell.
What I'm trying to achieve is to iterate through a dictionary of attributes (keys) and their corresponding values and add them to an existing object.
I know I can access an object's attributes using something like:
wall.Name
or even change the Name to something that I want:
wall.Name = 'some value'
However, I don't want to have to type the name of the attribute since I'm iterating through a dictionary of attribute names and values.
Additionally, I know it is possible to change the values inside the someobject.get_info(), although that does not update the real object's attributes.
If I try to print the object, it still has the "original" set of attributes:
print(str(someobject))
Something like:
currentObject.my_custom_attributeName = my_custom_attributeValue
does not work.
How can I achieve this?
Thank you!

Tagged:

Comments

• What about assigning a propertyset with Python IfOpenShell?

# Create and assign property set import ifcopenshell ifc_file = 'path\to_your\ifc_file' ifcfile = ifcopenshell.open(ifc_file) products = ifcfile.by_type("IfcProduct") owner_history = ifcfile.by_type("IfcOwnerHistory")[0] walls=[] for i in products: if i.is_a("IfcWall"): walls.append(i) property_values = [ ifcfile.createIfcPropertySingleValue("Some Property Set Name ", "Some Property Name", ifcfile.create_entity("IfcText", "Some Value"), None), ] for wall in walls: property_set = ifcfile.createIfcPropertySet(wall.GlobalId, owner_history, "Some Property Set Name ", None, property_values) ifcfile.createIfcRelDefinesByProperties(wall.GlobalId, owner_history, None, None, [wall], property_set) ifcfile.write(ifc_file)
    Jesusbill
  • I just tested this little script on a simple IfcWall,

IFC file after running this script.