Help getting my bearings with parametric modelling and inventory management with Blender Bim

edited December 2023 in General

I'm feeling really excited about how powerful Blender Bim is looking these days and have decided to really battle test it on a project I'm working on.

Parametric Modelling

One thing I'd love to pick the brains of the more experienced folk here on is how I might approach parametric modelling which will work well along side blender bim.
I'm new to parametric modelling in blender, but have experience doing this in Autocad, Fusion 360, and even Sketchup with dynamic components.

So for example, lets say I want to add a cabinet to my blender bim project.
But I'd like to be able to parametrically define the size, number of shelves etc and ideally generate a bill of materials, and cut list.
Is there any particular set of Blender native tools or add ons that can be used alongside Blender Bim to have one holistic project where everything is contained in the model?

I'm aware of the existence of:

• Geometry Nodes
  • Sverchok
  • CAD Sketcher
  • And I'm wondering if anyone that has already explored similar ideas might be able to advise which of these it might be best to invest time ?

Inventory Management

Another thing I'm interested in is using Blender Bim to capture data about the inventory of a building.
So one use case might be data on the IT equipment stored on a site.
That IT equipment, like a server, might have different server components in it.
Eventually I'd like to get to a stage where I can monitor sensors / data coming from the equipment as well as the overall energy consumption of the building
Would it be feasible to track this within a blender project?

Any suggested concepts to read into would be much appreciated.

Comments

• edited December 2023

Paramteric modelling

Please poke a bit around the forum, there's been a lot of discussion about this: