[BlenderBIM] Tiny cabin starter project

edited July 2022 in General

Hello all. I just joined the forum. I am a total newbie to BIM. I have an idea for a project perhaps can introduce me both to construction and BlenderBIM (if that is the best software choice here). I would like to get some suggestions from the experienced pros here.
My plan is to build a tiny 120 square feet cabin. The reason for 120 sq ft is that buildings with a gross floor area of 120 square feet or less do not require a building permit from the local government. This should significantly simply things and reduce the cost for me. A smaller, simpler building will also make a good first project to learn from. Although, not needing a permit doesn't mean shoddy construction.
My thought is that if I use something like BlenderBIM, it will let me design the cabin, which will let me see how different designs will look, and also I could get input from experienced architects if something about the design doesn't make sense, or is not sound engineering wise. It hopefully will also allow me to cost out the design relatively accurately.
Do you think I am on the right track here? Or is this too ambitious and doomed to fail? All comments and suggestions are welcome.

CoenbrunopostleJanFJesusbillJJ_Nelson

Comments

• Would love to see what you already came up with.

• @koensayr this sounds like a doable project, and I would hope that this is a place where you can get good advice about the construction aspects as well as the software - osarch is about open source architecture as well as open source software

• Sounds cool, I've been looking for someone with a real project we could use as an example. I can help you, if you in exchange promise to write some paragraphs about your workflow to iur wiki 🙂 (there's an empty link waiting for that: https://wiki.osarch.org/index.php?title=A_simple_step_by_step_example_of_a_project_with_BlenderBIM_Add-on&action=edit&redlink=1)