[Blender BIM] Modeling custom windows and doors - with arches

Hi! I am new to Blender BIM and BIM in general, which I am trying to learn with the BB add-on. So I am sorry if my question is going to sound very simple maybe, but I could not find a straightforward answer online (tried all day long).
The main problem I am having is with curved objects. I managed to create a custom window with a upper arch, but when I use it, of course, it creates a rectangular opening on the wall. Then I have tried using opening elements (modeling the shape of the window and then add void), to create voids where I could put my custom window, but I am definitely missing something because eventually I couldn't get it to work. What would be the correct worflow for this? Is there anything I can read or watch on the topic?
I have a similar problem with portals and archway, but I am hoping to understand it eventually once I solved that (the project I am working on is about HBIM so a lot of arches and complicate geometry)

Thank you!

Comments

• Hi @elo_elle someone will ask. so it may as well be me :) can you share your file. There are lots of smart people here, someone will solve your problem

• You should be able to draw the opening geometry with any shape.

A quirk of the IFC standard is that the opening geometry can't be defined in the window type - every window instance has to have its own opening geometry even if they are the same type.

Blenderbim has a couple of tricks to help with this: if you model an opening for a window instance, blenderbim will find it and make a copy of it when you create the next window; or if you add a 2D 'Profile' representation to the window type (ie. draw the elevation of the hole), blenderbim will extrude it and use it to cut openings for new window instances.

theoryshawAce
  • Thank you for your replies!

@brunopostle said: