Ifcopenshell-Python beginner

I am a beginner and want to know related quick getting started articles about Ifcopenshell-Python, thx

Comments

• Hey @shanmama - did you see some of the links and source code posted here?

Is there a particular type of data you are trying to extract? Is it geometry? Is it an attribute? Is it a property set? If you're interested, in an online meeting I can do a screenshare and teach a bit about IfcOpenShell-python. Would you participate?

• Dear all,
    Please Help....
    I am a beginner in using python, IFC and BlenderBim add on. I am trying to do the following;
    1. extract the quantities, material type of walls and floors and place them into a dictionary
    2. extract the quantities of external walls and group them based on their cardinal orientation (south, north, west, etc) of each wall. I do not know if it's workable.

For the quantities I tried the sample code on https://thinkmoult.com/using-ifcopenshell-parse-ifc-files-python.html but I get an attribute error (as shown below). I just hope I am doing the right thing.

• @polsonmila at first glance it looks as if you're getting an AttributeError because you're attempting to access quantity.lengthValue instead of quantity.LengthValue -- > the properties all use CamelCase

• edited November 22

Also, you need to loop through each Wall in your Walls list before you try to access .isDefinedBy.
    something like:

walls = [] # your list of walls
    for wall in walls:
            for definition in wall.IsDefinedBy:

• @vpajic Thank you for the response. I will try to do that and give you an update.

• BTW: if you post code do not use a screen shot but copy the code and use code tags instead. It looks like in the post of vpajic. If you post a screen shot noone can copy and test your code.

cheers bernd

• edited November 23

am grateful for the help
    After reading through the https://wiki.osarch.org/index.php?title=IfcOpenShell_code_examples