Homemaker add-on

14567810»

Comments

• @paullee My strategy regarding topologic vs. topologicpy is to not touch the C++ topologic code as it is used by others such as Homemaker. If I find that the code is buggy or limited, I augment it with python code in topologicpy. So sometimes, toplogicpy is just a wrapper and sometimes it is a whole method written mainly in python with some basic calls to topologic to return topologic entities.
    Face.IsInside is an example of the latter, but sadly it doesn't seem to be faster and may be much slower than the built-in method. I am going to test and report back.

paullee
  • As I said, sadly I am not interfacing with OCC directly and I am not touching topologic which does interface with OCC. If someone can do a PR on topologic (core) that improves it, that would be amazing help.

paullee
  • Yes our messages just crossed. I won't have time PR'ing anytime soon, but I have some experience with OCC, so I'm available in case somebody needs help navigating the OCC api. Maybe there is also some case to introduce PythonOCC. That's basically what we do with IfcOpenShell, we just serialize the OCC shapes between C++ and Python (both ways) as strings.

topologicpaullee
  • @aothms said:
    … Maybe there is also some case to introduce PythonOCC.

Stay tuned. ?

• @topologic said:

@brunopostle said:
    Filtering by normal brings down the dictionary transfer from 100 to 42 seconds.

Not sure how "filtering by normal" helps in the general case of finding if a vertex is inside a face. Do you think it is specific to your workflow or is it something that topologicpy should include as an improvement?

This is in my method for copying dictionaries from the Face set to the resulting CellComplex. If I can easily discard some impossible source/destination combinations then I don't have to do as many expensive IsInside() checks.

(I would do better with a proper check for coplanar faces, but parallel faces will do for now)

• edited October 2023